Today’s Question: How can you merge the contents of two folders in Lightroom Classic without losing any photos or edits?
Tim’s Quick Answer: Yes, as long as you move photos within Lightroom Classic (not through the operating system for example) when you want to merge photos into a single folder, absolutely nothing will be lost. All metadata and adjustments, for example, will be retained.
More Detail: When it comes to avoiding problems in Lightroom Classic, one of the most important things to remember is that every task should be initiated within Lightroom Classic. Making any changes outside of Lightroom Classic can very quickly lead to significant problems, potentially including the loss of some data.
If you want to consolidate the contents of two folders in Lightroom Classic, first decide which of the two folders will be the destination for the consolidation. In general, I would simply choose the folder that contains more photos to be the destination, to reduce the number of photos that need to be moved as part of this process.
Next, go to the folder you want to merge with the destination folder. Make sure the Library Filter bar above the grid view is set to “None” and then choose Edit > Select All from the menu to select all the images. Click and drag the thumbnail for one of the selected photos to the destination folder.
Once the photos have been moved, you can delete the empty folder by right-clicking on it and choosing “Remove” from the popup menu. If you need to rename the destination folder based on the consolidation, simply right-click on that folder, choose Rename from the popup menu, update the folder name in the Rename Folder dialog, and click the Save button.
Note that if the destination folder contains photos with duplicate filenames, you can rename any photos that were left behind when you attempted to merge and rename with the Library > Rename Photos command. Once those remaining photos are renamed so there aren’t duplicate filenames, you can move those photos to the destination folder as well. And, of course, if the duplication was because there actually were duplicate photos, you can review the duplicates and delete the unneeded copies, such as based on which had their metadata updated or had adjustments applied in the Develop module.

